Dietitian Drive

Veggie Pot PieThere is a chill in the air and this weekend I had to turned on the heat in my home. November starts the season of comfort foods. My number one favorite comfort food has always been chicken pot pie! Nothing better then moist chicken and fresh vegetables swimming in creamy buttery sauce, topped with a flaky pastry crust. Every bite melts in your mouth, but after I always feel a little bit guilty because most pot pies are full of fat and salt.

For example here is a standard individual pot pie you would find in most grocery stores. The serving size is 2, but most of us would eat the whole” individual” pie . The pie has 760 calories, 42 grams of fat and 1480 mg sodium!  Wowza, that’s a lot of fat and salt, no wonder I love it! Marie Calander Pot Pie

In my pintrest pursuit of recipes I…

View original post 665 more words

