Texas Toasty

IMG_7085.jpg

Growing up in a semi-small town in central Texas, the term “organic” was synonymous with “hippie.” Wanna eat organic? Go live in Austin with all the other hippies and swim naked in Lake Travis. That was how it felt when I was a child. And of course, why would I have wanted to eat organic? I’m no crazy bohemian Austinite. Our local grocery store didn’t have an organic section for the longest time, and even when they did add one, it was tiny and expensive.

Skip to the present, where perspective has changed. You’re not eating healthy unless it’s organic. And most of us should be eating healthier, right? Problem: it’s still expensive! Last week, a friend told me I should try out a local co-op called Rawfully Organic. At this point, I had no idea what a co-op was. She helped me understand and I decided to try…

View original post 757 more words

