Cultivating Habits

As part of my eat more vegetables habit, I’ve decided to experiment with some vegetables that are foreign to me.  Such as Swiss chard.

According to Wikipedia, Swiss chard is also known as silverbeet, perpetual spinach, spinach beet, crab beet, bright lights, seakale beet, and mangold.In South Africa, it’s called spinach.

Swiss chard

My favourite is mangold, so from now on, that’s what I shall call it.

So I bought some mangold.  First time I tried it I sautéed it with a little fresh garlic, olive oil and a touch of salt.  It was pretty tasty.

Tonight I thought it was time I upped my culinary skills and try some new combinations.

Ingredients:

  • mangold
  • leek
  • olive oil
  • garlic
  • red pepper
  • mushroom
  • rice
  • soya sauce (optional)

Method:

  1. Put rice on to cook.
  2. Wash leek REALLY WELL.  These are dirty suckers and rinsing will not suffice.  Chop it up.
  3. Heat some olive oil…

View original post 86 more words

