cook.can.read

This meal was based on a soup, more like a stew, that I had last winter. I can’t find the recipe for the stew; I believe it was in a cookbook I checked out from the library. Why I didn’t write it down is beyond me– it was tasty enough to be memorable, and I was craving a bowl this weekend. Here’s what I do know. The recipe I can’t find was itself based on a (different) traditional Polish stew, so it was kind of a modern version of a classic, if you will. The updated stew included some of my favorite comfort food ingredients: pork, greens, smoked paprika, sweet onions. I attempted to do justice to my memory of the recipe by combining the ingredients I remembered into something new but with a similar flavor; I came up with this dish, which I love. Smoky from bacon and…

View original post 723 more words

