Healthy Way, Lengthy Stay

I journeyed into town this morning to pick up my supply of vegetables and fruits for the upcoming week. I was surprised to find the shop unexpectedly affordable. With the exception of the apples, which totalled to be 60% of bill, the rest of the produce I purchase came up at just slightly more than £10.00.

The experience reminded me of the value that comes with sourcing products locally and encouraging family businesses by turning to them first. The intimacy of the interaction between myself and the man running the store (he provided me with juicing tips and threw in some of the greens for free) left me feeling as though I had somehow helped a noble cause. While I’m fully aware that I have done no such thing, it was wonderfully satisfying knowing that I was a recognised and appreciated consumer.

In reality, the likelihood of doing such things…

View original post 41 more words

